The College of Veterinary Science & Animal Husbandry (popularly known earlier as Odisha Veterinary College) was established in the year 1955 at Mangalabag, Cuttack under administrative control of Utkal University. The present campus of the College was established in Bhubaneswar on 2nd January 1960. The first batch of students from this college passed out in the year 1959-60. Subsequently, it was affiliated to Odisha University of Agriculture and Technology after establishment of this 2nd oldest State Agriculture University of the country in the year 1962. Thereafter, it was renamed as College of Veterinary Science and Animal Husbandry. Currently, the College of Veterinary Science & Animal Husbandry is imparting five and half year degree course to the enrolling students who get admission after completion of +2 Science or equivalent. More than 2775 students have successfully completed B.V.Sc. and A.H. course from this college since inception.

   In addition, higher courses leading to Master (M.V.Sc) and Doctoral (Ph.D) degree are also imparted to the students. Students after passing from this college have created a special status in multifarious fields such as academics, research, extension, pharmaceuticals, public health, conservation of animals especially endangered species etc. besides other public and private sector organization including RVC (Remount Veterinary Corps), Ministry of Defense.

Prof. Susen Kumar Panda, Dean


    The alumni of this institute have attained zenith of success in different sphere such as Vice-Chancellor of S.A.U’s, Cabinet Ministry in Government of Odisha, Lt. General of R.V.C. (Indian Army), Vice President of various corporate sectors, Deans and Directors of different Universities and I.C.A.R. institutes. Apart from that, alumni of this college have performed exceptionally well in professional field in India and abroad as well and have acclaimed accolade across the globe. This could be possible due to selfless and relentless guidance, advice and motivation by the faculty at every moment of their studies.

   At present 116 students are being admitted through common Entrance Examination conducted every year by OUAT and, all India quota seats (15%) filled up by the Veterinary Council of India (VCI) through NEET. The Post Graduate programme is running in 16 departments and Ph.D. programme in 12 departments with intake capacity of 5 M.V.Sc students and 2 Ph.D students in each discipline, respectively.

Don’t Have An Account?
Have An Account?